2008 Inaugural Merdeka Award Recipients Announced

The 2008 Inaugural Merdeka Awards recipients were announced yesterday.

I’ll let you read the announcement in The Star.

The interesting thing here is that no award was given for Outstanding Scholastic Achievement. This signals the extremely high standards of evaluation for potential recipients which is a great thing.

The Recipients are:

Royal Professor Ungku Abdul Aziz Ungku Abdul Hamid for the Merdeka Award for education and community category for his contribution to the eradication of poverty, rural economics and the development of Pilgrims Management and Fund Board (Tabung Haji).

The Malaysian Nature Society for the Merdeka Award for the environment category for its achievement and relentless efforts in the conservation of the Belum-Temenggor Forest Reserves in Perak, which is over 130 years old.

Nipah Encephalitis Investigation Team from the Faculty of Medicine, Universiti Malaya and Professor Datuk Dr Khalid Kadir (Jpint Award) for the Merdeka Award for the Health, Science and Technology category.

Datuk Leslie Davidson for the Merdeka Award for the outstanding contribution to the people of Malaysia category. His is recognised for his breakthrough in revolutionising the insect pollination of oil palms using weevils, which consequently increase productivity and reduce the cost of production.

There is no recipient for the outstanding scholastic achievement category for 2008.

The recipients of each category will be awarded with RM500,000, a trophy and a certificate to be presented later this year.

The award was founded by Petronas, ExxonMobil and Shell in conjunction with the 50th Merdeka Day last year.

Leave a Comment